Skip Navigation

Strengths-Based Prevention that Works

Join the waitlist: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/ConnectingwithCommunity

TUESDAY, DECEMBER 13, 2022

TIME ZONETIME
HAWAII (HT)9:00 AM – 10:30 AM
ALASKA (AKT)10:00 AM – 11:30 AM
PACIFIC  (PT)11:00 AM – 12:30 PM
MOUNTAIN(MT))12:00 PM – 1:30 PM
CENTRAL (CT)1:00 PM – 2:30 PM
EASTERN (ET))2:00 PM – 3:30 PM

Prevention of violence and related public health problems too often falls short of our goals of reducing harm. This is because most prevention efforts focus too much on admonishment and knowledge transfer, despite decades of evidence that such programs are ineffective. This web conference will present new ways of thinking about prevention that focus on building assets and resources. 

Join PreventConnect and the authors of the book, Strengths-Based Prevention, for an overview of the current state of prevention and introduction to the Prevention Portfolio Model (PPM). The PPM gives practitioners a new lens for thinking about prevention strategies based on promoting people’s access to psychosocial assets and resources. Presenters will also identify several promising, evidence-based, strengths-building prevention strategies (individual, relational, and systemic).

 Objectives

  • Participants will be able to identify at least two problems with existing prevention efforts, such as over-reliance on admonishment programs and boomerang effects.
  • Participants will be able to describe at least two ways that specific strengths-based prevention can improve upon current limitations in prevention effectiveness.

Guests


 

 

 

 

Victoria Banyard

Rutgers University School of Social Work
and Center for Research on Ending Violence

Sherry Hamby

University of the South
and Life Paths Research Center

Leave a Reply