By Tori Vandelinde on January 28, 2019

Sport is Part of the Solution to End Sexual and Domestic Violence

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 13, 2019

(This web conference will be held only once)

TIME ZONE
TIME
HAWAII (HST/HDT) 10:30 AM – 12:00 PM
ALASKA (AKST/AKDT) 11:30 AM – 1:00 PM
PACIFIC (PST/PDT) 12:30 PM – 2:00 PM
MOUNTAIN (MST/MDT) 1:30 PM – 3:00 PM
CENTRAL (CST/CDT) 2:30 PM – 4:00 PM
EASTERN (EST/EDT) 3:30 PM – 5:00 PM

 

With millions of young people participating in sport every year, sport is uniquely positioned to take action toward ending sexual and domestic violence. Sport develops young people by teaching skills, values, and practices, which can get to the root causes of sexual and domestic violence to prevent it.

Speakers Alan Heisterkamp of the University of Northern Iowa, Valencia Peterson of Open Door Abuse Awareness & Prevention and  Ward Urion of LifeWire will share how they have been able to develop partnerships with school programs, coaches and athletes to help implement prevention strategies in athletics. 

Sport can be part of the solution to ending sexual and domestic violence, join us February 13, 2019 at 12:30 PM Pacific for an informative web conference on how you can harness the power and influence of sport to prevent sexual and domestic violence in your community. 

OBJECTIVES:

  • Identify key elements of how secondary and youth athletic programs can instill personal responsibility and promote respectful behavior in working to prevent sexual violence and relationship abuse 

  • Describe the values of partnerships between sexual and domestic violence prevention experts and high school sport programs and coaches.

  • Identify challenges and solutions to working with and within athletic programs and administrators on sexual and domestic violence prevention.

HOST: Ashleigh Klein-Jimenez, PreventConnect and CALCASA

FACILITATOR: Brian Pinero, RALIANCE

GUESTS:

Alan Heisterkamp

Valencia Peterson

Ward Urion

 

Tori Vandelinde

More Posts by Tori VandeLinde

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Reply

Previous post:

Next post: