By Ashleigh Klein-Jimenez on February 6, 2017

Federal Efforts to Address Sexual Violence at Historically Black Colleges and Universities

Click here to access recording
MONDAY, FEBRUARY 27, 2017

(This web conference will be held only once. It will be recorded and archived.)

Please note this web conference will be held an hour earlier than typical PreventConnect web conferences. 

TIME ZONE
TIME
HAWAII (HST/HDT) 8:00 AM – 9:30 AM
ALASKA (AKST/AKDT) 9:00 AM – 10:30 AM
PACIFIC (PST/PDT) 10:00 AM – 11:30 AM
MOUNTAIN (MST/MDT) 11:00 AM – 12:30 PM
CENTRAL (CST/CDT) 12:00 PM – 1:30 PM
EASTERN (EST/EDT) 1:00 PM – 2:30 PM

 

 

Since the charge in 2014 from the White House Task Force to Protect Students from Sexual Assault, federal agencies have continued efforts to address this important issue. In December 2016, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) released a new technical assistance document entitled, Sexual Violence on Campus: Strategies for Prevention, and described in a subsequent web conference the key prevention framework components of the document and campus-based implementation and action. In an effort to continue to promote campus-based sexual violence prevention, this web conference will focus on federal-level efforts for Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). There is little evidence about the extent of sexual violence on HBCU campuses, making attention to the development and implementation of evidence-based prevention and intervention crucial. Join presenters from CDC, the Department of Justice’s Office on Violence Against Women (DOJ-OVW), and the National Institute of Justice (NIJ) as they provide information relevant to address sexual violence on HBCU campuses. These efforts will have technical assistance implications for campus administrators, prevention practitioners, program evaluators, and researchers engaged in the implementation of sexual violence prevention programs on HBCU campuses.

HOST: 

OBJECTIVES:

  • Present the state of evidence including what was learned from the NIJ-funded study on sexual violence and HBCUs
  • Describe the federal-level partnership between CDC, DOJ-OVW, and NIJ to conduct an HBCU sexual violence climate survey
  • Outline other existing sexual violence prevention and service efforts by CDC and DOJ-OVW

GUESTS:

MATERIALS:

  • PowerPoint Slides [PDF]
  • Text Chat [PDF]
  • Resource List [PDF]

{ 2 comments… read them below or add one }

Sarai February 27, 2017 at 9:59 am

how do we access the powerpoint?

Reply

Ashleigh Klein-Jimenez Ashleigh Klein-Jimenez February 27, 2017 at 1:20 pm

Hi Sarai,

The PowerPoint slides will be available shortly. We will send an email to everyone who registered for the web conference when that is available. Thank you!

Reply

Leave a Reply

Previous post:

Next post: